Explore. Dream. Discover.

Explore. Dream. Discover. Isn’t that what education is all about?  This is my favorite quote and really speaks volumes to my beliefs regarding education.

Explore: We want our students to explore new ideas, concepts and subject matter. We don’t want our students to sit in their seats and just receive the information we present to them. Students who are inquisitive, think for themselves and are problem solvers are a teacher’s dream come true. We love students who are engaged in content so much so that they want to be in the classroom and are excited to come to school on a daily basis.

Dream: Our task as educators is to be dream facilitators. Each student that we see on a daily basis has a dream for the future. Whether their dream involves a four-year degree, vocational school or the work force, we need to help them accomplish their dreams by pushing them to do their best. We want all of our students’ dreams to become a reality.

Discover: One of my favorite aspects of being an educator is witnessing a student have an “ah-ha” moment, one where you can almost see the light bulb go off in their head when they grasp the concept you’ve been teaching. I have come to love the process of learning. Not only do we want students to discover things within our content area, we want them to discover new things about themselves.

In 20 years, what are you going to look back on and wish you tried or pursued? Looking back on my life and education, this quote holds true. I am more disappointed by the things I was too afraid or nervous of trying rather than all of the things I have done or have embarked upon. That is why I have a hard time turning down a new opportunity. My goal in life is to learn as much as I can and to help as many people reach their full potential. There are many times I have stepped outside of my comfort zone, but that is when growth begins. You can’t grow if you constantly stay in your comfort zone.

My challenge to you this week is to try something new in the classroom. Try adding more technology in your lessons or try a new teaching strategy. Work with another teacher and teach a cross-curricular lesson. Don’t be afraid to try something different.

“Throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

Leave a Reply

