One Word for 2016

My One Word

If you are like more than 50% of Americans, you started the new year by making a list of resolutions, or things that you wanted to change or improve upon by the end of 2016. Did you know that less than 8% of the people who make resolutions actually achieve their goal? Why is that? Why is it so hard to change the way we live or the way we do things? Maybe resolutions aren’t successful because we try to do too much. Maybe it is better to keep things simple.

Several years ago, I came across the concept of choosing one word for the year rather than creating a laundry list of resolutions. Instead of focusing on a list of several things I wanted to improve upon, I chose one word that would be my theme for the year. This concept seems so simple, but it is a very powerful process. I have written before about the power of our words and this is just another example of how one word can make a huge impact on your life and the life of those around you.

So how do you come up with just one word? That’s the hard part. Start by looking inward. What are areas of your life that you would like to improve upon. Your word can be a noun (something you want to be), a verb (something you want to do) or an adjective (something you want to describe yourself).

My word for 2016 is FOCUS. There are so many ways I can use this word in my life. I want to focus on what is important at school and at home. I want to focus on what matters the most. So often I get side tracked by the small things that don’t really matter. These small things take up so much of my time and cause me to lose focus on the important things. This year, I am going to stay focused.

I encourage you to pick one word and make it your theme for the year. Take time to reflect and think about how you want to improve. Choose your word carefully because it will have a major impact on your life this year. After you pick your word, make sure to keep it handy. Write it on a piece of paper that you will look at each and every day. Make it your screen saver at work. Do whatever you need to do to keep your word fresh in your mind throughout the year.

If you need more help coming up with your word, check out one or all of the websites below. They offer advice on how to select a word, along with many success stories of people who have participated in the one-word resolution. There are also several books available if you would like to read more about the one-word resolution.

 

 

Leave a Reply

